top of page

Composition -As silent as bombs

As silent as bombs is a data-based composition consisting of three parts: Overture, Bang, and Whiteness, written by Wei Ting Tseng/Zeng, dedicated to her brothers Wei Hsiang Tseng and Wei Chih Tseng.

The composition considers the ecology of fear and kinesthetic sound simulation. It aims to redefine the roles of the composer, performer, and the public, whether they exist in total synchronization or disconnection. Is our individual experience a constant relocation of estranged collective consciousness, or is it integral to the collective narrative as a whole?


Artboard 1.png

KILGORE (to Willard)

We’ll come in low out of the rising sun - - We’ll put on the music about a mile out.


Yeah. Classical stuff - - scares the hell out of the slopes - - the boys love it.


POV behind the PILOT and CO-PILOT - - the ocean rushes


Big Duke six to Eagle Thrust - - turn on coordinates 1-0 - - nine, assume attack formation.


The helicopter banks into a tight turn and bears toward the coast.



Eagle Thrust formation target 2800 yards - - begin psych-war operations.



The ocean rushes below as suddenly the LOUDSPEAKERS BLARE out Wagner’s “Ride of the Valkyries.”



From the water we SEE the massive grouping of Hueys - - gun -ships - - troops carriers - - medieval and recon - - ROAR over low in battle formation BLARING out “Ride of the Valkyries.”

(Apocalypse Now, 1979)

The first part, Overture is composed for solo cello in summer 2022. The composition is structured based on the data regarding the frequency of Chinese provocations around the Taiwanese Sky-territory and its level of discussion online among the Taiwanese public from September 16th, 2020, to April 11th, 2021. This period is considered a significant turning point in the tension between Taiwan, China, and the US.

It was premiered at the opening of Store Gilhus Gård 2022 and exhibited at Oslo Negativ Photography Festival 2022, performed by Wei Ting Tseng/Zeng.


Bang is the second part of As silent as bombs, written for cello and bass clarinet in the summer of 2023. The composition uses 80 bending strings to show the gradual changes on military expenditure of China, Taiwan, Ukraine and Russia, in the period of 1992 to 2022, in constant USD (2021). 

As silent as bombs: Bang will be premiered at the opening of Tegnetriennallen 2023 at Tenthaus, performed by Wei Ting Zeng on cello and Elena Perales Andreu on bass clarinet.

The third part of the composition Whiteness will be composed in 2024, written for cello, bass clarinet, and elecronics.

The project is supported by Bildende Kunstneres Hjelpefond (Bildende Kunstneres Help Fund) and Kulturrådet (Arts Council Noway)

bottom of page